Gridiron Legends
The AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl is proud to announce this year’s class of Gridiron Legends presented by Kelsey Seybold. This year’s class will be honored at the 2014 AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl on December 29th on-field during the pregame ceremonies.

2014 AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl Gridiron Legends

  • Andre Ware
  • Charles Alexander
  • James Street
  • Robert Brazile
  • Joe Washington Sr.

Past Gridiron Legends


Dat Nguyen, Texas A&M and Dallas Cowboys linebacker
Bob Lilly, TCU and Dallas Cowboys defensive tackle
Abner Haynes, RB, North Texas and Chiefs, Broncos, Dolphins and Jets
Donny Anderson, Texas Tech and Green Bay Packers RB
DW Rutledge, HS Coach – Converse Judson; Executive Director, Texas HS Coaches Association


Ty Detmer BYU
Hayden Fry University of Iowa
Darrell K. Royal University of Texas
Bill Smith Aldine High School
Thurman Thomas Buffalo Bills


John David Crow 1954-1957, Texas A&M University
Mike Johnston Katy High School, Head Coach
Robert C. McNair 2002-present, Houston Texans
Dan Pastorini 1971-1979, Houston Oilers
Bum Phillips 1974-1980, Houston Oilers
Joe Washington 1981-1984, Washington Redskins


Ramond Berry 1984-1989, New England Patriots Head Coach
Bill Bradley 1969-1976, Philadelphia Eagles
Earl Campbell 1978-1984, Houston Oilers
“Mean” Joe Greene 1969-1981, Pittsburgh Steelers
Aaron Glenn 2002-2004 Houston Texans, 2005-2006 Dallas Cowboys
Gerald McNeil 1980-1983 Baylor University, Houston Oilers
Bob Moses 1958-1962, University of Texas
Don Trull 1963-1969, Houston Oilers


Billy “White Shoes” Johnson 1974-1980, Houston Oilers
Gabriel Rivera 1979-1983, Texas Tech University
Grant Teaff 1972-1992, Baylor University
Johnny Roland 1966-1972 St. Louis Cardinals, 1973 New York Giants
Sammy Baugh 1937-1952, Washington Redskins
Sonny Sowell 1949-1953, University of Texas


Ecomet Burley 1971-1974, Texas Tech University
Ken Burrough 1971-1981, Houston Oilers
Mickey Herskowitz Sports Journalist, Houston Chronicle and Houston Post
Jack Pardee 1987-1994 University of Houston, Houston Oilers Coach
Jackie Sherrill 1982-1988 Texas A&M University Coach
Dicky Maegle 1952-1955 Rice University


Bill Yeoman 1962–1986, University of Houston Head Coach
Mike Renfro 1978–1987, Houston Oilers and Dallas Cowboys
Corby Robertson 1966–1968, University of Texas
Chris Gilbert 1966–1968, University of Texas
Ray Childress 1985–1996, Houston Oilers, Dallas Cowboys
Dave Campbell 1960–present, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football Magazine
Elvin Bethea 1968–1983, Houston Oilers


Lamar Hunt A True Texas Gridiron Legend
Kenny Houston 1967–1980, Houston Oilers and Washington Redskins
Roosevelt Leaks 1975–1979 Baltimore Colts, 1980–1983 Buffalo Bills
Jerry LeVias 1969–1974, Houston Oilers and San Diego Chargers
Don Maynard 1958 New York Giants, 1960–1972 New York Titans/Jets, 1973 St. Louis Cardinals
G.A. Moore 1962–2004 Texas High School Coach


Presented by

© 2014 ESPN Internet Ventures. Terms of Use and Privacy Policy and Safety Information/Your California Privacy Rights are applicable to you. All rights reserved.